Your browser appears to be out of date. For the best experience, please consider upgrading to Firefox.

John H. Sadler, MD

MEI Chair
President and CEO, Independent Dialysis Foundation, Baltimore, MD

John H. Sadler, MDPracticing clinical nephrologist, retired Associate Professor of Medicine, and Head of the Nephrology Division at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Co-investigator from 1994-99 on the CHOICE Study, a 5-year ESRD Patient Outcomes Research Team funded by the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR, now AHRQ); member of the Institute of Medicine ESRD Program Study Committee 1988-91; chair of the ESRD Health Status Outcomes Group, 1995-97. Published author of many studies on dialysis effectiveness, anemia management, and innovations in vascular access.

Deborah Brouwer-Maier RN, CNN

Deborah Brouwer-Maier Vascular Access Marketing Manager - Transonic

Nephrology Nurse with over 35 years’ experience in both acute and chronic hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis. Roles included direct patient care to various management roles in various dialysis setting.

Extensive experience in the dialysis device related development and clinical support including a home dialysis system and multiple vascular access related products.

Awarded the ANNA Nephrology Nurse Educator Award in 2007. Received the National Kidney Foundation Serving the Alleghenies Gift of Life Small Hands, Big Heart Award in 2010.

Active member of ANNA, ASDIN, NKF and previous served as secretary for VASA.

Work Group Member for the NKF KDOQI Vascular Access Guidelines 1997, 2000 and 2006 publications. Author of multiple publications on vascular access. Frequent speaker at professional symposium.

Betty Chewning, PhD

Betty Chewning, PhD Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Pharmacy

Director of the Sonderegger Research Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Pharmacy, Madison, WI

Recipient of many state and federal grants, including: "Pharmaceutical Care Outcomes: The Patient's Role," funded by AHRQ; Early Head Start Program Evaluation; and studies on individuals with chronic health conditions.

Author of numerous publications, including a book promoting client self-management in chronic disease patients.

Four-time recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award from the School of Pharmacy and the UW-Madison Medical School, Department of Preventive Medicine.

H. Keith Johnson, MD

H. Keith Johnson, MD Chairman of the Board, Dialysis Clinic, Inc., Nashville, TN

Nephrologist and retired faculty member, Vanderbilt University.

Former president of both SEOPF and UNOS, the transplant registries and education organizations.

Author of several peer-reviewed articles in nephrology.

Medical Director of the Renal Transplant Program at Vanderbilt University Medical Center from 1990-99; Medical Director of the Renal Transplant Section of the Veterans Administration Medical Center, Nashville from 1972-99.

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH Dean, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD

Internist, epidemiologist, and specialist in preventive medicine.

Director of the Precursors Study, a prospective study of 1,337 Johns Hopkins University medical students that began in 1946; a co-principal investigator on the CHOICE study (the AHRQ patient outcomes study of ESRD); team leader of several continuing NIH grant-funded projects.

Editor-in-chief of the "Johns Hopkins Family Health Guide," member of the Editorial Board of the American Journal of Medicine, and editorial consultant to the American Journal of Epidemiology.